12 Things I Learned in Type School

Peter Cho
12 min readSep 3, 2018

--

This essay is adapted from a process book summarizing my year as a student in the Type@CooperWest Extended program. It’s a collection of thoughts, projects, and sketches. I’ve learned a lot of lessons, both big and small, over three terms of studio and history classes, guest lectures, and workshops.

In no particular order, here are twelve things I’ve learned about the practice of type design, the world of type, and the creative process.

[ 1 ] My love for type

For as long as I can remember, I’ve loved type. As a kid, I’d beg my parents to buy fonts for me that I could load up onto my Mac Plus computer, Aldus PageMaker, and print out on my ImageWriter. In high school, I had a subscription to Font & Function magazine.

My interest in typography continued in school and work. At the MIT Media Lab, I experimented with writing code to draw letterforms that could be animated in 3D. Working in motion graphics, and later in product design, I’ve always been interested in how to use type to communicate and express ideas.

But when I was considering applying for the Type@Cooper West program, I wasn’t sure if I’d…

--

--

Peter Cho

Founder, Typotopo.com. VP of Design at Brilliant. Formerly: YDays, Pocket, Medium, Google Project Ara, Inkling.